Trump's war on science, a chronology (Week 1)

Originally published at: http://boingboing.net/2017/02/01/trumps-war-on-science-a-chr.html

2 Likes

Jerry Falwell (the younger) is being put in charge of a “higher-ed policy” task force.

That will not end well.

10 Likes

While, as a scientist, I can strongly relate to every point on that list, I think that the damage to humanities and arts is not just a sidenote.

(I assume this is a cultural thing? Especially for German-speaking countries the sharp distinction between sciences and humanities is not completely understandable. Even though the gap between scientific cultures widens more and more under the influence of the Bologna system, the Humboldtian ideal still resonates in Europe.)

10 Likes

is that so? I did not work in academia after finishing my studies, but imo there’s a gap between Naturwissenschaften and Geisteswissenschaften, with a mutual disdain or at least different backgrounds and approaches

3 Likes

Because trying to force science to adhere to your political notions has worked out so well in the past… https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Lysenkoism

6 Likes

Compared to the US, and in parts also the UK, I think the distinction is still less pronounced. Both Natur- and Geisteswissenschaften are Wissenschaften, and talking about “Wissenschaft” and “Wissensgesellschaft” is including both branches.

An article in any larger German-speaking newspaper or magazine about how the Trump admin affects Die Wissenschaft® would, I boldly assume, include the effects on humanities as well.

But you are, of course, correct about the cultural gap in background, approaches, and methods. And even about a mutual disdain, which has something to do with the former - but more with vanity, and funding.

However, there are quite a few interdisciplinary mutual ‘Befruchtungen’, still. Even if they are not widely visible.

3 Likes

We’re being reduced to a Nation of f’ing morons right before our eyes.

8 Likes