Uber uses its in-app podcasts to broadcast anti-union messages to drivers

Originally published at: http://boingboing.net/2017/03/15/fair-and-balanced.html

2 Likes

A guy I know who began using Uber when it first appeared was trying to convince me to do it as well, and I looked it over and said to him “why don’t I just collect bottles and cans for the deposit?”

(Maybe not a fair comparison, but if I’m going to be self-employed or just pad my income there are better ways then Uber.)

13 Likes

Roger That!

3 Likes

I owe my soul to the company store

13 Likes

Not the only company ever to assertively promote anti-union messages to employees:

and Boeing’s bought and paid for political arm doing the same:

Uber is just another company in a long list of companies trying their best to keep from dealing with unions.

5 Likes

I dunno, if I was a highly compensated insurance professional, and my company offered a podcast, I might listen sometimes to pick up tips and ideas. But if I’m a freeter cab driver earning less than minimum, you think I’m going to spend my off hours listening to The Man? I predict a very small audience, mostly management.

8 Likes
3 Likes

Couldn’t find a worse recording?

Be better off doing home “cooking” if you know what I mean…

Didn’t even know they had a podcast and if I did, I still wouldn’t listen. Ride sharing is a side thing for me so I’m not going to give it any more time than I need to.

The thing I have always found funny about people against unions is that those same people live in a right to slave state and constantly complain about the wages and the hours and they don’t get benefits. What did you think the unions did?

2 Likes

I’m curious what they say that might persuade the drivers away from unionizing.

Because one involves scrounging through trash cans and other people’s garbage, and the other involves sitting in your car and driving people around. I know which one I’d rather do.