Utah may cut off NSA's water in protest of mass surveillance

[Permalink]

Wouldn’t it be nice.

1 Like

If your tap doesn’t work, your taps won’t work.

11 Likes

I can just imagine a separate building holding a bunch of porta-potties… Yuk.

Kudos to the guys in Utah for this!

4 Likes

If that doesn’t work, they could always just frack nearby.

2 Likes

Looks like the State may require a new State, outside the extant States, to keep its stuff in. What a state to be in.

5 Likes

I’m no lawyer but as written, it sounds like the United States Census Bureau (which collects data on US citizens without either the citizen’s consent or a search warrant) falls into the category of “federal data collection and surveillance agency.” US code Title 13, section 101, subsection a says:

The Secretary may collect decennially statistics relating—
(1) to the defective, dependent, and delinquent classes; and
(2) to crime, including judicial statistics pertaining thereto.

So no Utah government official can provide any assistance to the Census Bureau? Criminals didn’t exactly grant permission to the government to collect the following data about them:

(b) The statistics authorized by subsection (a) of this section shall include information upon the following questions, namely: age, sex, color, nativity, parentage, literacy by race, color, nativity, and parentage, and such other questions relating to such subjects as the Secretary deems proper.

This doesn’t even take into account section 141, which lays out the rules for the decennial census (part of which says that Federal benefit programs shall use data from the latest census in determining the amount of benefits.) And yes, refusal to answer questions is covered in section 221 and is punishable by a fine. So you can refuse consent (and be fined); if you do and then the Census Bureau gathers data on you (or if you’re a criminal and it gathers data on your prosecution) it technically sounds like it falls afoul of this proposed law.