Watch a Cessna pilot land with no engine

Originally published at: Watch a Cessna pilot land with no engine | Boing Boing

12 Likes

If only he had been wearing a parachute

7 Likes

Pilot vs. Instagram Scammer, who just happened to be wearing a sport parachute that isn’t made for sitting on as a pilot :-/

I mean, I figure you know this, but not everyone has heard of the incident or if they have knows the mightily suspicious details.

12 Likes

11 Likes

As the pilots say, any landing you can walk away from is a good one. This is more than good.

27 Likes

I have a subscription to flightradar24 and was able to find this flight. The data seem incomplete, though. It doesn’t show the landing on the runway like we saw in the video, and the final altitude is around 700 ft, but the ATC reported the elevation of the runway at 200 or so feet. Looking again, the origin isn’t at an airport, but some rando location NE of Tacoma. Hmm.

2 Likes

Are you suggesting it’s all a scam an he’s still up there hovering at 500 ft above the runway?

Makes sense, seeing as his engine was out and he couldn’t fly down.

(Alternately, flight radars report elevations of older small planes like this one based on what the Mode C transponder is reporting, and the radar won’t see it once the plane starts getting too close to the ground and is below the radar’s coverage.)
10 Likes

I drive a car that old with a flat 6 engine, but I don’t think I’d fly a plane that old. For this reason.

7 Likes

When your engine stalls in a car it falls right out of the sky.

13 Likes

This was nicely done. Nice and calm.

I was this guy one day in 2006, but the engine came apart at just 600 feet after takeoff as I turned downwind at Boeing Field Seattle. I glided like a winged rock under a jet that tookoff behind me.

Made it back to the runway, greeted by fire trucks. Tower told me to get out quick - lots of smoke I couldn’t see because of the breeze.