Watch: Patient plays violin during brain surgery, a UK first

Originally published at: https://boingboing.net/2020/02/18/watch-patient-plays-violin-du.html

Professional musician Dagmar Turner had brain surgery at King’s College Hospital, London to remove a benign tumor.

2 Likes

-Doctor, doctor, will I be able to play violin after this surgery?

-I’m so sick of that joke that if you don’t play violin during the surgery I will dice your Broca’s area.

7 Likes

I’m playing the violin during brain surgery right now

1 Like

I used to be a surgical tech, specialized in neuro surgery, and these “twilight” procedures were hands down the creepiest… looking into someone’s skull as they’re largely aware of what’s happening in the room is deeply unsettling. The operation takes longer to perform and the room is incredibly quiet during, making the room just that much more tense to be in.

3 Likes

Oh, and how are you typing?

1 Like

“Dagmar Turner was woken up after her skull was removed.”

!!!

May I opine that a portion of her skull was removed?

4 Likes

The patient is doing it?

4 Likes

With the violin specifically I’d be worried about the fine rosin dust that comes off the bow and strings during playing. I suppose they must have had some way to make sure that stayed out of the surgery area…

1 Like

My question with this sort of thing is always, what happens if they do lop off a chunk of brain that stops you being able to play violin? Is there, like, a five-second rule where they can hurriedly superglue that chunk back in place? Because if not, it seems like a gratuitous shit sandwich to have to find out your career is over while you’re pumped full of drugs and someone is chopping up your exposed brain.

3 Likes

Who’s hungry?

“…after her skull was removed…”

That sounds rather extreme.

The sphincter tone in the room is so high that if anyone but anesthesia passed gas only dogs could hear it.