Why is it so frakking hard to disable animation in web browsers?

I am not a programmer.

I get that most users don’t have trouble with animation.

I don’t get why it’s reasonable to code browsers to enable animation but unreasonable to provide tools to disable it. I have to install separate tools to disable animated gifs, which always hurt, and disable flash unless wanted, and so on. I encountered another source of painful animation on accessfirefox while looking for better solutions to the other animation.

I installed NoScript to disable Javascript-based animation. On installing, it loaded its own website with its own painful animation. I uninstalled NoScript. I don’t know what to do. I get that some of my habits, like using text tables and simple formatting to avoid losing things when switching formats, also go against accessibility standards. But this is just… beyond my comprehension.

I’d use NoScript. Browser plugins sometimes load their own page when they’re first used. And NoScript is not specifically for avoiding animations, but for securing against scripts generally. It works well, but requires a bit of tweaking to get some sites to work. Another option is to use a purely text-based browser such as one of the Lynx family.

I think it will be pretty much impossible to disable all animation on the web, unless you find a dedicated browser that’s built for doing that.

While Flash-blockers and NoScript should get you pretty far (I’m unsure why you disabled it, except for annoyance that it’s own site had animations — I think that aside it should work for you), animations right now are built into the core CSS definitions that describe how websites are laid out. Animations are very much here to stay in the web, even without Javascript.