1st knitting project

Been working on this since last Sunday and skipped a few days.

If there are any knitting nerds (like me as of this project :rabbit:), this is a basketweave scarf using these directions. 9mm needles on weight 6 yarn.

Further details available on request but I’m just getting started so I don’t know much. :laughing:

Discourse has some interesting ideas about what this post is related to …

9 Likes

cool color :^)

2 Likes

Well done. That’s looking awesome. :thumbsup:
I’m not a knitting nerd (I leave that to my wife) but I weave (card, inkle and previously 48" countermarche) and stitch.

Crochet Yoda approves of your work. (made by Mrs.Martian for me as a birthday gift to go with an R2D2 Xbox. )

4 Likes

Crochet Yoda is amaaazing. :smiley: Wow, that smiley is terrifying. :rabbit:

1 Like

Yoda is cute!
“May the Yarn be with you!”

2 Likes

Just ordered a whole bunch of assorted metallic, luminescent and retroreflective yarns. Dunno what the hell we’re going to make, but it’s going to be bloody sparkly. :sparkles: :sparkler:

2 Likes

I just ordered some more yarn myself. Nothing sparkly but I hope to have three scarves knitted by Christmas Solstice. If not more. :slight_smile: Yarn is ridiculously tempting.

2 Likes

That looks ambitious for a first project. But perhaps that’s just because I was in 4th grade when they made me learn it.

Maybe. :laughing: I’m just counting myself lucky that the ineffable forces of my subconscious decided on a relatively simple pattern instead of demanding entrelac or cabling on my first time out.

2 Likes

Sure is. One of my suppliers does a great silk/stainless steel blend yarn. Knit it on larger needles and you get a loose, open, textural garment that holds it’s shape. Not the most practical stuff and far from easy to work with though.

2 Likes

Could this material be used for making conductive paths through the resulting garment, for attaching electronics (LEDs, sensors…)?