Ahmed Mohamed wants his clock back

[Read the post]

1 Like

With my humility? I wonder if he means dignity?

3 Likes

That’s the coolest thing ever. His comments about feeling supported on social media and by people like Mark Zuckerberg and Obama are amazing. Is someone chopping onions?

1 Like

Probably.

I wasn’t terribly eloquent at that age either, but I frequently convinced myself otherwise. I probably would have imploded if I had to deal with this much media attention at 14.

9 Likes

Oh I wasn’t mocking - just puzzled.

2 Likes

So…you not only over react and commit a clear violation of this kid’s rights. But then when you realize you made a horrible mistake…you don’t even actually apologize for it…AND YOU KEEP HIS PROPERTY?!?

I just can’t even.

10 Likes

At least you wouldn’t have exploded.

His parents should go to the county sheriff and report that a city cop stole his property. As a Texas resident, I can tell you that our sheriffs and city police don’t get along much of the time.

13 Likes

ALSO, THE CASE IS OFFICIALLY CLOSED STOP TALKING ABOUT IT OK?!!!
/s

I feel like there have been a couple of other similar incidents over the past few years (possibly featured on boingboing). I recall the whole Mooninites flap in Boston, and Star Simpson’s encounter with our good friends at the TSA, but those were both in 2007. I can’t remember any more recent incidents, but I have this nagging feeling. Am I crazy Y/N?

The kid is innocent, but the device just might be guilty as heck – civil forfeiture. Ahmed can buy it back at the next police auction.

2 Likes

They do that shit all the time.They confiscate cash all the time, never charge anyone with a crime, good luck getting it back.

Well, they didn’t shoot him. Going by American police standards, he’s way ahead at this point.

5 Likes

Let’s use the publicity and step on their throat this time, then.

9 Likes

Who ever heard of a plug-in bomb? And I hope he insulated the leads on that transformer…