Blue painter's tape good for more than masking

Originally published at: https://boingboing.net/2020/03/09/blue-painters-tape-good-for.html

4 Likes

I use it in the 2" rolls to cover the print bed of my 3d printer. It grabs the print medium pretty well, and it comes off if it grabs too well.

5 Likes

Blue painter’s tape is masking tape that’s been dyed blue. It’s not magic.

3 Likes

I used to work as an archeologist in the uk and we use transparent drawing film to record excavations which we hold down with masking tape so we have a lot lying around. My old boss used this tape to seal the leaking sunroof on his car as well as to hold on the plastic liner on the inside of the door.

1 Like

masking tape is a good option for homemade bandages, I find, with a little toilet paper/napkin/paper towel over the wound

3 Likes

I’ve just been through this. Do not ignore the “remove within 21 days” warning. I did and paid for it with a full weekend and a good part of my fingernails.

I also did some parts with regular masking tape, and in comparison, the blue stuff left a bit less sticky residue - but it ripped and teared very easily where it had been exposed to the (winter) sun for ~3 months, so I had to peel of thousands of tiny scraps. That was another brand though. Your mileage may vary.

4 Likes

We use it to hang puppy training pads for our oldest cat who thinks outside the box. But the crepe stuff is better than the 3M stuff, IMO.

I did one dig in the U.K. in my youth (I’m Canadian); a Saxon village in Milton Keynes, and we were shocked, SHOCKED to find out that you people do not sharpen your trowels.

2 Likes

Yup, this! Masking tape / painter’s tape is indeed going to leave residue, and it is absolutely not a good plan for any long term storage that you don’t plan on needing a knife / scissors to open later.