Worker surreptitiously ate $9,200 worth of deli meat, reports grocery

Originally published at: https://boingboing.net/2018/09/10/worker-ate-9200-worth-of-del.html

3 Likes

Nibbling away over the eight years

Good line for a song.

23 Likes

When I worked at a deli/meat market in my late teens this was common place. We often snacked on an extra slice or two of various things.

28 Likes

Over 8 years I think that’s totally fair. Not even close to a dollar an hour to supplement what’s probably not much more than minimum wage. The store probably throws away more than that.

63 Likes

WTF? When you work with consumables, said consumables (to a reasonable degree) are a perk of the job. I take pens, pads of paper home from work, and print shit out on the printer here at work. As long as you don’t kill the goose that lays the golden eggs, nobody cares. I worked as a short-order cook at a pub once and ate tons of shit. My boss reigned reined us in a couple times, but only when we were eating too much of the the top shelf stuff. This lady was eating HAM, the cheapest of the deli meats. $9,200 over 8 years is about $1000/year. Probably represents her giving herself a 3% raise in kind per year. Let the wage slave have her slices of meat.

55 Likes

Business as usual is now theft when you really want a reason to fire someone.

23 Likes

If they stocked Jamon Iberico Bellota ham I could rack up a similar bill in a week.

18 Likes

Ham is not the cheapest of meats. Bologna or various loads (pickle, polish, etc) are always cheapest. Hams can be inexpensive (Virginia baked ham) but also incredibly pricey (Parma prosciutto).

Agreed though as a whole. It’s part of the perks of the job.

11 Likes

And? I’ve worked jobs in the food service industry and in coffee shops and this is fairly common. It probably says more about how shitty people are being paid that it’s universally common for workers to be supplementing their nutritional intake with food/drinks from work.

38 Likes