Denied at the drive drive-thru: a woman and the horse she rode in on (video)

Originally published at: https://boingboing.net/2024/02/14/denied-at-the-drive-drive-thru-a-woman-and-the-horse-she-rode-in-on.html

1 Like

Sorry I’m with her, that’s fucking horseshit. Asshole could have taken their order and everyone could have had a pleasant day. Instead he chose to be an asshole for absolutely no reason.

3 Likes

Seriously? As a driver I don’t want to have to rely on the horses training, and the rider’s common sense when I go through the drive through. Just no. I say that as someone that spent their childhood in the saddle. I don’t want horses in my drive through experience.

4 Likes

sorry, i have nothing to add that wasn’t already said in the comments on the reddit thread. i mean, “Ma’am, please get off your high horse” pretty much says everything that needs to be said.

5 Likes

Can’t tell if sincere belief or trolley

1 Like

If there were horses in front of me in the drive thru I would give them some room and think about what a silly day I’m having. I don’t even like horses, and I don’t see what the big deal is here.

3 Likes

Private businesses can set their own policies on who to serve and how, but it’s still kind of depressing that we have so much public and private infrastructure built around the cult of the automobile that we rarely even take the time to question how things could be different anymore.

14 Likes

Most drive-thrus where I’m at don’t allow walk-up humans and have a posted policy of allowing vehicles only, so I could see that being extrapolated to walk-up humans on horses (or walk-up horses with humans?)

3 Likes

I mean, as a driver I don’t want to have to rely on a human’s training behind the wheel, but here we are. I have never had an issue with a horse on the road or shared pathway (and around here we encounter plenty), but I have almost gotten killed by other drivers, both as a driver and pedestrian, more times than I can recall.