Easy homemade yogurt recipe

[Permalink]

I wonder if using an “Asian style” yogurt instead would produce a different tasting result. Red Mango, for instance, apparently contains a slightly different mix of organisms, specifically thermophilus, bulgaricus, lactis and acidophilus (I’m no yogurt expert, but those last two are different than bifidobacterium, right?). So are those bacteria what gives that yogurt it’s peculiar taste?

Speaking of asian yogurts, I’m currently in Japan where it’s next to impossible to find unsweetened, unflavoured yogurt–even if it says “plain” on it. Will that still work for making the starter batch or will the sugar and other crap interfere with the process?

1 Like

Do you ever have issues with the milk sticking to the pan by heating it that hot?

How about a little love for non dairy yogurts? A quick search for a cookbook produced by The Farm ought to show you a simple soy milk yogurt.

Yes, the sour flavour comes from the bacteria - similarly to sauerkraut or sourdough bread. I wasn’t aware of Asian style yogurt as I haven’t really travelled in that part of the world. Sounds interesting - I would say give it a shot and the worst that can happen is just losing a pan of milk!

1 Like

I would think sugar/chemicals may interfere but the milk contained in any yogurt starter contains natural milk sugars so you may be ok. Would be cool to try it out as if it did work you would end up with your own starter that didn’t have all the crap in it. If it doesn’t work then you can buy starters online that can come in a powder form and contain the bacteria

1 Like