Family sues after a corpse was unceremoniously exposed to the bereaved

Originally published at: Family sues after a corpse was unceremoniously exposed to the bereaved | Boing Boing

4 Likes

I blame Corncob TV.

19 Likes

thank you

4 Likes

sooo… had there been some sort of ceremony prior to the strap snap then all would’ve been not-seeking-damages? (“and since any lowering of a body into a neatly dug hole amounts to ‘ceremony’…”) nah… cha-ching!

gratuitous Big Lebowski ‘cremains’ scene: The Big Lebowski - Ashes Scene - YouTube

2 Likes

I worked in the funeral industry here in Pittsburgh for a bit.

I heard lots of stories like this. One involved a family who elected for cremation of their loved one, but still wanted a casket in church (happens all the time). The deceased is placed in a cardboard cremation casket that goes inside a decorative casket with a door on the end that allows for the removal of the body from the casket without having to lift it out.

The church had very steep steps to the top (Pittsburgh, after all). During the climb there was no problem, but on the decent the end door swung open because someone forgot to latch it. The box slid out, opened up, and deceased ended up lying on the sidewalk in front of the church.

The veterans told me so many stories like this. Funeral industry can be pretty hilarious when you’re not the family of a screw up.

9 Likes

Unquestionably an unpleasant experience, and I feel bad the family had to go through that. $50K seems high, though, for what sounds like an accident. Even if it was due to poor maintenance, it seems like there are better remedies. Taking an additional $50K out of the city budget doesn’t seem likely to improve maintenance.

1 Like

Same! I came here to share that exact link.