Feedback on the new category column appearance

This new format is really grating to me. If I was only seeing one or two lines of it at a time, it might be more tolerable but ugh. I didn’t have any particular feelings about the old column but I guess I wasn’t appreciating what I had when I had it.

They also don’t seem to be evenly spaced but I think that’s a consequence of differing line heights depending on how long the thread title is.

I would just question what this is supposed to add?

As an amateur designer, I would guess it’s an interpretation of the direction Material Design (Android Lollipop and other Google products) and some of Apple’s tweaks in Yosemite.

While I do like the general thrust of Material Design, I feel like this is not working here.

If you mean the category column being there at all, I suspect it is there to indicate that you can sort (or select at any rate) by it as opposed to other all-topics view implementations where it shows to the left of the title (often as part of the title as opposed to being a proper column at all) where it might not be sortable.

I mean this specific change. I don’t really care what Android or Apple are doing, this just makes the categories less apparent and less easy to see. It adds nothing to the BBS and I can’t understand why such a change was made.

And before anyone gets their knickers in a twist about “OH YOURE JUST AFRAID OF CAHNGE!!1!!11ELEVEN!” - No. Just no. If you can justify this change, please, go ahead. I’ll listen to you, I promise. but I’m still unlikely to agree with you.

The old category style (white text in a colored box) had some problems:

• too much color at once – particularly in places where you see a bunch of topics together and that is a lot of places like the homepage, all topic lists, and the suggested topics at the bottom of every page – making the pages noisy

• visually fought a lot with buttons which are also colored squares with text