Maggie speaking all week at University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

[Permalink]

Being a former 6-pack resident, I was always jealous of the Allen Hall kids. The A.I.R. program is just one of the reasons...

@pesco and @frauenfelder have done this program, too. It's a really cool thing. I'm a little jealous we didn't have anything like this at my school.

Chicago is a "quick" (2 hours) drive or train ride away. Not that you're likely to have much free time while you're at UofI. Let me know if you think you might come up here: I'd be happy to treat you to dinner/coffee/whatever.

Thank you for the invite. Unfortunately, I don't think I'm going to be able to get away. But I will get to Chicago at some point! Promise.

@maggiekb, I work in town. Do you have any particular dietary restrictions? There's some good eating around here for a town this size.

I went to UIUC for grad school and fondly remember some of the restaurants. I was in Krannert all the time and would get gyros from Zorbas for dinner on a regular basis. I heard there was a fire a couple of years ago - did they ever recover? The Red Herring vegetarian restaurant was a nice place for lunch. And I recall that Dos Reales had the best margaritas (or the strongest, at any rate) in town.

CC: @maggiekb

There's nothing "quick" about a trip to Chicago from UIUC, unless you consider Kankakee part of Chicago...

I used to drive to Mattoon/Charleston from the far north side every weekend. Champaign-Urbana to the south side cuts out about 1/3 of the miles and thus is barely over 2 hours of driving. I suppose "quick" depends on where you're from and how accustomed to road trips you are.