One of these trusty multi-tools or pocket knives could be a virtual lifesaver

Originally published at: https://boingboing.net/2020/02/28/one-of-these-trusty-multi-tool.html

Fry & Laurie__No multitool but Berwhale

3 Likes

But which of these multitools should we buy?

So they could save my life but only in Virtual Reality?

Or one, but you don’t say which specific one, could almost save my life, but not quite?

3 Likes

I buy several Gerber Shard tools at a time. I’ve been carrying one of them on for 6+ years, though I typically have mine plus one more on my key-chain, giving the newer one away as impromptu gifts, rewards, tips and the like. Super handy tool and (so far) TSA doesn’t give it a second look.

About $5 - $7 depending on finish and the day to day insanity of Amazon’s pricing bots.

https://www.amazon.com/dp/B077926SLG

1 Like

X-All-The-Y__Buy ALL the multitools!

8 Likes

Is there a more badass a feeling than knowing you’ve got a blade hanging around your neck?

Mmm… maaayyybbeeeee…

:wink:

The Geekey looks like a fun little tchotcke, but only if it was a third of the posted price. That knifepen thing is fucking stupid.

1 Like

Originally $10.99, now only $10.99!

Unfortunately the multitool I’m after isn’t here. I need a combination:

• Metric trepanning bore
  • Filleting knife for my chicken sashimi
  • Robertson screwdriver
  • Nose hair trimmer
  • Spork
9 Likes

That sounds overly demanding. Surely in the sort of life-or-death situation we’re considering here, a filleting knife could trim nose hairs just fine.

That’s what the little tweezers in the Swiss army knives are for.

2 Likes

I don’t think most of these are practical, but likely sell well because they are “cool”.

I have one of thise credit card thibgs (and a simikar one innplastic". I carry one of them around in one bag, but have nwver used either.