Open Carry T-shirts are an invitation to be shot by cops

[Permalink]

Police apologists for outlawing realistic pictures of guns in

3…
2…
1…

3 Likes

More proof that video games and movie violence have destroyed the moral fabric of cishet male boomers

How is this “an invitation to be shot by cops”? Do you imagine that the police routinely shoot anyone they see openly carrying a gun?

I mean, you live in LA, right? So do I. I have some experience with openly carrying a gun in various parts of LA, (professional reasons, don’t ask) and while it definitely will draw the attention of the LAPD, I’ve never once had any impression that I was at any risk of being shot.

I got way more grief about openly carrying back in the '70s in the supposedly “Wild West” of Apache Junction, AZ than I’ve ever gotten in LA - but even then, none of the cops I encountered ever gave me reason to fear for my life.

Of course, I don’t freak out just because a cop points a gun at me. I’ve had that happen on several other occasions (unrelated to carrying guns) and none of them ever made me fear for my life, either.

Not that I think that makes this T-shirt a good idea, mind you - the cops aren’t the only people who might possibly shoot someone who appears armed, and I’ve been in places where, if you look like you’re carrying a gun, you’d better be.

But it’s not the cops I’d be worried about.

3 Likes

On one hand we shouldn’t live in a world with such trigger happy cops that this would be a problem.

On the other hand it appears we do, at least in some places, and this is a really, really stupid idea. Though I think this is hardly original. I bet you 10 bucks this design has been made before.

Of course people wear shit with giant pot leaves or other shirts talking about illicit behavior, which is like a big neon sign that says “find a reason to search me”.

ETA - oh and people who get tattoos that look like guns tucked in waist bands. I mean, play stupid games…

1 Like