Racism and bigotry in politics

Holy fucking shit, I spoke too soon.

Just learned this is a real ad by Doug Jones, Roy Moore’s opponent. I just don’t know WTF to do with this among the various political threads, so I am leaving it here.

ETA - now assuming one has any integrity in them, who is one supposed to vote for now?

5 Likes

It is entirely true, but is using racism to prove your point really what we should be going for?

It won’t change anything, and he just outed himself as a racist. I guess I shouldn’t stereotype, but maybe in Alabama this is a given?

4 Likes

How is it racist to point out that a person of color wouldn’t enjoy nearly the same level of public forgiveness?

12 Likes

Because it uses the innate racism of the area, and the candidate, in an attempt to draw a parallel with Moore. If everyone was cool with black people in Alabama, then there would be no “teeth” to the ad.

But hey - don’t take my word for it, I am not an expert on such things. Listen to this guy:

5 Likes

That’s still not racist; it’s just pointing out that other people are.

4 Likes

The logic behind this creates an idiotic double bind.

Mention racial double standards: “The flyer is reductive in its oversimplification of the black mind as only caring about black issues.”*

Don’t mention racial double standards: Why don’t you care about situation of the marginalized groups, Mr. Privilege?

*It’s a f@#$% flier. Not a three-volume novel. Of course any message it conveys will be oversimplified.

4 Likes

Yeah, that’s entirely true. This also gives ammunition to the argument that white democrats are literally using black people and not giving them shit. Which isn’t wrong, actually.

[ETA - edited out the link, since @Mister44 already had it up!]

11 Likes

Because it’s yet again white people in power using black people as props in their quest to gain more powerful positions.

15 Likes