RIP Lou Scheimer (Fat Albert, Star Trek: The Animated Series, etc.)

[Permalink]

I’m sorry I’m only learning of Scheimer’s story now that he’s gone. As a teenager my friends and I passed around videotapes of Star Trek: The Animated Series, which we all really enjoyed. Before that I grew up watching Fat Albert. I remember one episode distinctly, which dealt with the prejudice faced by a girl whose parents were an interracial couple. I was so naive then I didn’t see anything controversial about the episode. I knew that some people had a problem with “racial miscegenation”, and I knew those people were idiots.

Only tangentially related: Years later I heard one of Bill Cosby’s routines about Fat Albert that inspired the animated series. It was about Fat Albert’s car, which had a Cessna engine in it. Cosby impersonating the engine remains one of the funniest things I’ve ever heard.

2 Likes

Filmation had live series “The Ghost Busters” (with Larry Storch!) years before the Ghost Busters movies, and that’s why the animated version of the movies had to be called “The Real Ghostbusters,” while Filmation revived “The Ghost Busters” as a cartoon.

Frankly, I’m too terrified to click on any YouTube videos of Filmation products because I will activate the dormant ROM chip in my brain that holds all those theme songs and god knows what else that was engraved on my brain as a child. I’m still recovering from the “Banana Splits” theme song showing up in “Kick Ass.”

3 Likes

Oh my god, I had forgotten about that, but now I seem to vaguely remember that show… at least the picture looks hella-familiar!

The Filmation Ghostbusters was on Netflix streaming not too long ago–it was actually based on an older live action show of the same name, apparently, so they came by the title honestly.