Robot riding on turtle's back steers it with "carrot-on-a-stick" technique

Originally published at: http://boingboing.net/2017/05/08/robot-riding-on-turtles-back.html

1 Like

Poor turtle!

When I hear news like this, I immediately know that it was funded by a supervillain.

7 Likes

For the three thousand, seven hundred, and thirty-first time, I am not a supervillain. I am a mad scientist.

I have no superpowers except for those that SCIENCE gives me, unlike those pathetic “supervillains” who have the strength of a thousand men, the speed of a fighter jet, and the brains of an ostrich.

And soon, my army of robot-guided snapping turtles will show you! Show you all!

Muahahahahahahaha!!!

7 Likes

I initially read it as the “carrot and stick technique” and thought “my god, how exactly does the robot punish that poor turtle?”

7 Likes

It robots and turtles all the way down.

8 Likes

In what application is this a better solution than an all robotic “turtle”?

Of course, if the goal is to simply torment turtles, then an all robotic turtle would completely fail.

4 Likes

Today it’s turtles.

Tomorrow, bees? Elephants? Uber drivers?

3 Likes

I sense a particular trajectory here.

3 Likes

Control yourself, Mr. Not-a-Supervillain Man.

3 Likes

this is one of my favourite film posters ever, love the tag-line:

4 Likes

George C. Scott would have loved the poster’s … pertinence.

1 Like

We’d be in a world of shit if they ever ‘turned’ chipmunks. That’s for sure.

2 Likes

After the singularity, that’s what future little old ladies with a deist interpretation of the merging of organic beings with robots will say to athiests at their lectures about how illegible AI created the singularity on their own.

3 Likes

Could you be more specific?

:wink:

3 Likes

And fast, also:

5 Likes

I for one welcome our new robotic turtle overlords.

2 Likes

Pa, Pha want Bee, now!

1 Like

Wait, what? Is that real?

Real, as far as the movie having been made. And this from Wiki: