Some antisemites are having a hard time in the Entertainment industry

Originally published at: https://boingboing.net/2024/02/07/some-antisemites-are-having-a-hard-time-in-the-entertainment-industry.html

6 Likes

TLDR: I’m not a lawyer.

They didn’t “terminate” her contract. All they did was not enter into a new agreement with her. they didn’t fire her, they just never hired her in the first place for a second go around. That previous contract didn’t say anything about Disney having to enter into another agreement as soon as this one ran out.

I know she’s delusional and thinks people are champing at the bit for her style of acting chops. But I don’t think disney is going to have an easy time finding a show she can be on AND people would watch it. You know, assuming they lose. Which they won’t, as no legal grievance has occurred.

23 Likes

I don’t doubt that, but you’ve read the contract?

2 Likes

For the 1 billionth time, she exercised her free speech when she made her public statements. Now she is enjoying the consequences of having done so. Disney is exercising its own right to free association and conducting its business by having nothing further to do with her.

Why is it so hard to get this through to these fools?

43 Likes

It’s not. They know what they’re doing. This is all part of the grift. Remember, noted “free speech absolutist” Elon Musk fired some of his own employees who had the nerve to criticize him. This is just the usual conservative bullshit: rules for thee, but not for me. See also: Wilhoit’s Law.

38 Likes

Correcting, to add the unspoken:
In a statement, X’s head of business operations Joe Benarroch said, “As a sign of X Corp’s commitment to free speech, we’re proud to provide financial support for Gina Carano’s lawsuit, empowering her to seek vindication of her free speech rights on X and the ability to continue her work bullying, harassing, and discriminating without having to be bothered by the consequences of her actions.

17 Likes