This feature is now available for beta testing. You can find the magic Ignore button on the user profile page.
And in your user preferences page under notifications, users.
The UI is now finalized – Ignore requires specifying a time period, maximum 4 months.
Please try it out and let us know what you think. Feedback welcome from people who asked for and planned to use this feature.