Waxed-cotton, waterproof "fighter pilot" jackets

Originally published at: http://boingboing.net/2017/06/19/cosplay-adjacent.html

2 Likes

Looks like the perfect wardrobe for those whose greatest daily challenge is which way to hold the Starbucks cup.

17 Likes

4 Likes

I was all set to say “cool, but these are never made in my size” - but then I saw they offer them up to 51". I’m impressed.

1 Like

@doctorow which jacket of theirs do you have? I’ve been eyeing the “Hacker” for a while now, but haven’t been able to stomach the price just yet. They’re comfy and well made?

2 Likes

I have an embarrassing number of their jackets and they are, to a one, beautifully made and comfortable af.

5 Likes

Conceptually interesting stuff but prices are way out of my or my wife’s range and I don’t think either one of us have the figure to wear this stuff effectively any more. Time unmakes us all.

Heavy, stiff, non-breathable, pricey, foppish.

Appropriate.

I know nothing of these particular jackets, but my waxed cotton Barbour and Filson jackets are both quite breathable. While the Filson jacket is designed to be heavy and stiff, the Barbour is neither.

My Filson jacket is 21 years old and my Barbour is over 25. So while they may both have been “pricey” when new, their daily cost or cost per wear is minuscule as they both have years if not decades of life left in them. IMHO, it’s worth paying for quality.

4 Likes

That guy looks like needs to poop. He has the “I need to poop” face going on there.

1 Like

I love my Belstaff jackets and the waxed-cotton variants are my winter coat. They are the most comfortable jacket to be stuck in shitty weather in that I have owned. Blizzards, torrential downpours, Vanagon stuck in mudflats? My old trialmaster handles it all and can be brushed off and worn to a leather club.

Has there been a technological revolution in space steampunk-age fabrics that I missed, or do you still need to re-wax your waxed cotton on a regular basis?