Can we hide the system update to linked images?


#1

I keep wasting tiny hits of social-interaction-substitute endorphins on those automatic alerts, which is doubly sad. #foreveralone

If dear old system can be trusted to fix our image hotlinks promptly and without fail every time, are those notifications really necessary? Should this not be a silent thing by default? Discuss.

Continuing the discussion from BB BBS Comment BINGO:


#2

Even blocking notifications from @system doesn’t help with this.


#3

I don’t think these notifications serve a purpose either, I could do without them.


#4

Other than allowing a person to see which URLs get transmogrified into beautifully formatted and framed imagey-links, I’m a big fan of getting rid of that notification.


#5

Ok I turned on this setting:

Disables edit notifications by the system user when ‘download_remote_images_to_local’ is active.

That should turn off the edit notifications. (Are you posting a lot of remote hotlinked images every day? Why is this suddenly a problem?)


On replying with the same animated GIF many times
#6

Thank you. I’ll let you know if it returns.

I guess I am, sometimes. I just counted 20 notifications in the last twelve hours, five of them pencil-@system ones. I’m probably more of a visual reference and punchline sharing type than average, and just copy-pasting the url from somewhere is a few steps more convenient than downloading an image just to upload it.

Not suddenly a problem, just a small enough annoyance that I keep forgetting so it keeps tripping me up. Glad to see others notice it too so I don’t look too much like a crazy pet peever.


#7

Mindysan has been subtlety nudging us to upload more animated gifs.

Wait, subtlety? Basically daring us.


#8

Not every day, but often enough.


#9

Just above average, but the baseline’s pretty high around here, so there’s that. :stuck_out_tongue:


#10

thank you for disabling, but c’mon, man, it’s not “suddenly” and you know it:

March 29


your reply


#11

That had to do with us moving things around artificially such that ALL images had to be redownloaded. That is what I meant by “moving to a new container”. Before that BB shared space with other sites.


#12

the whole thread was about the notifications all happening at once in a batch, but you were replying to this specific post which said:

I guess the “best” way to act here is to allow users to opt-out of this
type of notification after they get the first one. EG: “I
understand all my hotlinked images will be downloaded locally don’t
bother me anymore with this [ ]”

which I thought is what we were talking about now.

you see it a different way, I guess.


#13

It is turned off system wide now. So imagine that setting, but for everyone, with a single button push.


#14

But, @system was my invisible girlfriend!


#15

Yours?! That two-timing bitch!


#16