Florida teen apologies for grammatically incorrect sign that was also racist

Originally published at: https://boingboing.net/2018/04/24/florida-teen-apologies-for-gra.html

3 Likes

He’s clearly a horrible human being but the word “WHITE” does appear to be spelled correctly in that photo.

5 Likes

The invitation was met with a heart-eyed emoji from the recipient.

I think that’s a yes but I’m not an expert in new-speak. These young folks with their emoji-thing-a-me-bobs…

Did the school at least make him write out a grammatically correct version of the placard one hundred times?

3 Likes

never has this been more relevant…

floridabb

19 Likes

I think the grammatical error is that he should have used “were” rather than “was”. Of course, the real problem is that he has the sign at all…

16 Likes

WRITE may be a typo, because there is indeed a grammatical problem contained in the third word which should be “were.”

The word were replaces was in sentences that express a wish or are contrary to fact:

Example: If Joe were here, you’d be sorry.

Shouldn’t Joe be followed by was, not were, given that Joe is singular? But Joe isn’t actually here, so we say were, not was. The sentence demonstrates the subjunctive mood, which is used to express things that are hypothetical, wishful, imaginary, or factually contradictory.

This is all part of the Florida Man franchise, right? Son of Florida Man?

9 Likes

If I was a thinking man I’d pick the was/were, but I’m not so I pick the question mark? And the kerning. And the sentiment. In no particular order?

6 Likes

Yeah, I don’t use that word in that way, “concerning.”

1 Like

Uh, shouldn’t the title have “apologizes” instead of “apologies”?

12 Likes

That’s the standard boilerplate for, “I remember when these little shits acting up was only my problem between 8:45 and 4:15”.

4 Likes

FTFY. Teenagers are not fully developed human beings. They have poor judgment and impulse control.

8 Likes