Jimmy Kimmel got a colonoscopy on camera

Originally published at: https://boingboing.net/2018/03/24/jimmy-kimmel-got-a-colonoscopy.html

Having gone through my first colonoscopy (at 42!) I’m glad they’re de-mystifying the procedure and making it less scary, but I do wish they hadn’t made such a big deal about how awesome sedation is. Every single one of my nurses and doctors encouraged me to avoid any meds or sedation when I had it. There was little to no pain, it was really no big deal, I got to watch the procedure live as it happened, and afterwards got to just walk out of the hospital. Whereas with sedation you’re in there for hours afterwards and you have to deal with the after-effects of Propofol.

4 Likes

14 Likes

Way to go Jimmy! This is one of the most preventable cancers. Get screened, save your own life. Yes yes they snake a cable camera up yer butt, BFD.

The nurses told my wife I was the funniest patient they’d ever had, they wondered if I was a comedian or writer. No just loopy said the Enkwife. As I tottered out they laughed and said ya’ll come back soon! 5 years I grated out thru my clenched teeth…

2 Likes

I had my first a couple of years ago and also opted for staying awake. I found the entire thing very uncomfortable and alien. I’m sure my anxiousness did not help them with the procedure either. It was, for sure, convenient but next time I’ll be asking for sedation.

1 Like

I’m told they do twilight anesthesia at the hospital where I’ll be having mine. A friend volunteered years in advance to pick me up just to see what I’m like when I’m hopped up.

More importantly, it’s nice to see Kimmel once again using his celebrity for a good cause. He’s been out front when it comes to encouraging Americans to participate in a proper health care system.

They also clip any polyps they find with the device, so it’s a 2-for-1 deal.

5 Likes