Listen to the Kennedy administration fat shame kids in 1961

Originally published at: Listen to the Kennedy administration fat shame kids in 1961 | Boing Boing

2 Likes

One of the great Robert Preston’s rare missteps as a performer.

I’m willing to bet that most Happy Mutants of a certain age here loathed this physical fitness test (really more of a competition) as much as I did.

8 Likes

I think I heard that song on Dr Demento back in the day.

4 Likes

I am told that MIT’s response to Kennedy’s call for greater physical fitness in the schools was to create their tiddlywinks club.

5 Likes

I’ve been doing CrossFit for about four years now – and down sustainably about 50# from the beginning of COVID – without injury, but when certain things come up that I just can’t do (pull-ups), I’m warped back to the shame of that stupid thing.

(And I remember this record very much from 1978/1979 2d/3d grade)

10 Likes

I couldn’t be assed to give any effort, but another kid in my school ran the mile at a sprint and collapsed afterward. I definitely didn’t learn the lesson from it that they intended.

6 Likes

According to the Wikipedia: In 2014, “Chicken Fat” was used in a TV commercial by Apple Inc. to promote its new iOS 8 health application. The commercial shows people swimming, running, and checking their weight while connected to iPhone apps and accessories to a recording of “Chicken Fat”.[4][5] It was reported to be a 2000 recording by Bernie Knee, a jingle writer and part-time cantor, which was released by Kimbo Educational Music,[1][6] though he died in 1994.[7] Separately, it was reported that it was a new recording but that Apple would not name the singer.[8]
The final citation is to a NYT article that is behind the paywall.

3 Likes

I’ve been exercising regularly for more than a decade now. I would have started a lot sooner if not for lunkhead PE teachers pushing this culture.

7 Likes

+40 years later and my record still stands at 0.

5 Likes