Making, Crafting, Creating... aka Whatcha workin' on?

I know many of you mutants like to spend time making stuff, so how’s about a little show and tell?

All I have time for right now is what I like to call “TV projects”: basically, stuff I don’t have to pay too much attention to, that I can work on while the TV’s playing. I’m doing some free-form embroidery on a shirt:

The other project is a knit kitchen towel:

And you?

30 Likes

I have been so lax at anything of that sort lately.
I have a bunch of minis really need to get to painting.

8 Likes

I’ve been working on my desk for about 3 years. I kinda hope I’ll still be working on it in 10 years time.

A friend is going to teach me how to make wire trees soon. I’m rather excited about that.

24 Likes

My current project I’m working on: a 40 year old fiberglass sailboat that the previous owner didn’t want anymore. Looks pretty, but there is pretty much nothing right with it. Seriously, about the best thing that can be said for it is “it floats.”

26 Likes

Are you locked into having to spend a lot for specific materials to fix the boat or will you be able to build your own sea-worthy fixes? And where do you puke from–I’m already seasick.

As for myself…

16 Likes

nice money pit there. should be fun after awhile.

10 Likes

[quote=“wrecksdart, post:5, topic:67869, full:true”]
Are you locked into having to spend a lot for specific materials to fix the boat or will you be able to build your own sea-worthy fixes? [/quote]

Some specific stuff is fairly expensive. Anything that comes from the manufacturer is marked up by like 1000%. And hiring others to service it is crazy pricy. That said, this thing needs a ton of work. The hull and standing rigging are in good shape, but that’s about it. I ordered a bunch of lines (you landlubbers call them “ropes”) and I’m looking around for used sails right now.