North Americans feared and misunderstood pizza in the 1950s

Originally published at: North Americans feared and misunderstood pizza in the 1950s | Boing Boing

11 Likes

“Dem Eyetalians, wit der weird un-American food!”

And this 1956 CBC cooking show that shows how to make pizza can’t be missed. All you need is a sliced hamburger bun topped with pickles and relishes — Yum!

15 Likes

In the 1970’s my mother had her version of pizza she made with a Bisquick crust.

It was some time before I understood that pizza could be something that was actually good.

34 Likes

Too be fair, when I was a kid living out in the sticks, pizza needed to be feared. Pizza looked like this:

38 Likes

“No more ‘ini’ food!”

11 Likes

I find it weird that I am only learning now that my folks, born in the late 1930s, likely never had pizza as a kid. And for them I wonder if it still has that sort of long tail of novelty that things like sushi and mobile phones – things I once did not know I needed – have for me.

26 Likes

I had a similar experience when I discovered tacos in the 1970s. Growing up in rural/suburban Minnesota, where the only exposure to food outside the home was found in Lutheran church basements, I’d never seen or heard of them before.

One day after school I saw tacos in a menu at a new diner, so I ordered one just to see what it was, and it was like the greatest food ever.

It was wonderful on so many levels. It was a first for me to find food independently of my parents taking me somewhere. And it was so delicious, with different spices and flavors that I’d never had before. And the thought that the whole world was full of exotic delicious foods was mind opening. It was almost as powerful as my first trip to India, many years later.

It seems strange that something as simple as a taco could trigger so much, but it really was the moment where I started thinking about cultures other than the only one I knew.