Trump's DC hotel hiking prices on the day QAnon thinks he's being sworn in as pres

Originally published at: Trump's DC hotel hiking prices on the day QAnon thinks he's being sworn in as pres | Boing Boing

3 Likes

Whenever I go to dc for work as a govt contractor, I need to find a place available at the DC per Diem rate. That jumps from $188 to $258 in March, which seems really high, but is so far below these rates.
It’s been a while, but I remember it being rather hard to find rooms at that rate near where I was working. Am not missing this aspect of work.
There was also a bedbug breakout when I was doing a lot of travel. May we wish such upon the Trump hotel!

16 Likes

Any grifter who survives long enough in the business understands that you have to squeeze the rubes for every last dime as long as you can.

Also, I wonder why that 1331 figure was chosen. Does it have a special meaning for the Qanon nuts?

22 Likes

Good question! I did a quick search but all I found was an “angel number” meaning related to confidence, something biblical about soothing a troubled heart, and a Hebrew definition related to virginity. Isn’t the internet fun?
I’m sure the Q world will be able to come up with something better.

10 Likes

“Price gauging?” Does one use a dial micrometer to “gauge” prices, or is it better to use a pair of calipers?

Way to go, Forbes. Maybe you should be less concerned about the wages of proofreaders, and gauge them on their competence instead.

19 Likes

Part of me hopes he’s made up one of the rooms in Mar-a-Lago to look like the oval office, and that he’ll just declare himself President on the 4th.