Utah official pulls down teen's skirt in restaurant, arrested for sexual battery

Originally published at: https://boingboing.net/2024/04/29/utah-official-pulls-down-teens-skirt-in-restaurant-arrested-for-sexual-battery.html

13 Likes

I’m going to go out on a limb and guess this official’s party affliliation…

50 Likes

I’m not a lawyer but does the fact that she called out that she worked for the state (implying additional authori-tah!, under color of law) when she committed this assault add a few more charges (potentially federal charges, which even if she has friends in the Utah government may be harder to shake) to what she was originally arrested for?

It sounds to my layman’s ear that 18 USC 242 may be applicable.

22 Likes

If a young adult’s parents aren’t taking exception to how their daughter is dressed (in clothes that are in fashion right now for young women), then no one should. “I work for the State” Karen had better be facing some jail time.

@frauenfelder: The victim was 19. Please stop referring to 19 year olds as “girls”, they are women and legally adults.

39 Likes

According to a statement of probable cause, Lorenzo reported the incident herself the night it happened, telling dispatch that the teenager had her skirt “hiked above her vagina and butt,” exposing her pubic hair.

Sure, Jan. You’re claiming the woman basically had nothing on below the waist and you were the only one who noticed. OR you went through some contortions to spy on her privates.

14 Likes

She sounds like a joy to be around

/s

15 Likes

We’re only seeing events post-battery, so I don’t know what her dress was like before, but I’m going to go out on a limb and assume that wasn’t true, at all.

18 Likes

She’s 19. As long as she was legally dressed, I’ll expand that “no one” to her parents.

30 Likes

It’s Utah. That doesn’t even count as a guess.

17 Likes